After 5 days.. my thoughts and questions for the devs.

Posted by:awadmin
Data created:1 March 2017

Hello there.  First off, I am loving this plugins.  Lucid is a lot of fun.  The wrong settings can make you pull your hair out like any simulation software, and the documentation is lacking, but it's still a lot of fun and very capable.  I picked it up in a day or two and produced final art with it in a crunch.  I am doing a sim of 5000+ pieces of shredded cheese falling into the package, and I have produced some decent results in my minimal time whilst learning the plugin.

I will caveat all that follows with the statement that I am NOT an FX artist.. I may just be using the tool wrong, so please understand that as you read my questions, issues, and feature ideas.  

1. Fixed scale is not ideal and seems to make things difficult to dial in.  Values of .004 are being used, for instance.. Could very well just be my fault.  In a quick turnaround job I didn't want to be re-scaling and moving elements off origin, etc.

2. The hover-over documentation is great (aside from the quick-disappearing of it), but it's missing on some features/dialogs/etc, and also, if features are un-used on certain types of sim objects such as cloth and inflatable, softbody, etc.  For instance, Flex settings Scale > resolution does absolutely nothing to my inflatable/collision setup.  No time difference, identical results, etc.  values of .001 to 500 didn't change, so I assume this isn't needed for collision/inflatable only sims?